An example of medieval and neo-gothic architecture, this abandoned cole mine is situated in the heart of the small town of Cheratte, a few kilometres away from Liege. Its construction started in 1850 and was one of the first electric powered mines in Belgium. Closed in 1877 after an accident and re-opened thirty years later, in 1907, it operated coal until 1977. Today, almost forty years later, its rich cultural heritage and exciting industrial relics have turned it into a terrific urban exploration site. A sleeping beauty with a charred heart.